Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

That's not entirely true. You can keep any version that you've paid one year worth of subscription for. That means that if you subscribe for three years then cancel your subscription, you'll always have access to the version that was released one year before you cancelled.


I think parent’s gripe is that if you end your subscription, you can’t keep any updates that come out during your last year, so you likely need to go backwards with your installed version.


It is particularly annoying if they introduced a serious bug, ie datagrip not refreshing queries, in the version you got when you purchased it, the one after the trial that worked. Then, a year later you get downgraded to a version that is useless.




Consider applying for YC's Winter 2027 batch! Applications are open till November 2.

Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: