Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

> My interpretation is that Google is "un-training" users from using this valuable piece of screen real estate for a useless no-op function, (...)

It's not an useless no-op function. By going to default/main page of the service it reverts you to a known state, simplifying navigation and enhancing user confidence. I personally rely on this behaviour of main logos and get terribly annoyed if someone breaks my expectation (which, rarely, happens).



Consider applying for YC's Winter 2027 batch! Applications are open till November 2.

Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: